Mayor's Message- January 2023

Happy New Year!

In December, we said goodbye to two of our seated council members, John Tschumperlin and Pam Mortenson. Their terms expired the end 2022, and they both decided not to run for reelection this past fall. At our first meeting of the new year,  we swore in two new Council members, Peter Vickery and Claudia Lacy. Congratulations and welcome!

With our new Council members on board, we will be having a strategic planning session the end of February. During this session, we will be establishing goals and priorities to be accomplished over the next two years.

In December 2022, the Council interviewed and appointed some new members to our Planning and Parks Commissions. Michael Kirkwood, Heather Charles and Sarah Hussain were appointed as Planning Commissioners and Marc Henning and Zak Gangestad were appointed as the two alternates. The new Commissioners and alternates will be sworn in at the next Planning Commission meeting on January 30th. Alyce Vogel was re-appointed to the Park Commission and Kelly Phillips will be sworn in as a new member at the first Parks Commission meeting. There are currently still a few openings on our Parks Commission. If you are interested in getting involved, consider applying for these volunteer positions.  

With all the recent snow and ice, our Public Works crews have been out plowing and sanding, putting in many hours of over time to keep our streets safe and in good driving condition. I know they can’t get to every road immediately, but under the circumstances they are doing an excellent job. Thank you to our Public Works Director, Gary Peters and to his entire crew. 

I wish you a prosperous, safe and healthy 2023!